What Happens If You Drive Without Insurance in Virginia

If you’re caught driving without insurance in Virginia, there are serious consequences. You could face a fine, have your license suspended, or even go to jail. It’s important to understand the law and make sure you have the right car insurance policy in place so that you don’t run into any problems if you get pulled over. Virginia is a strict state when it comes to car insurance, so make sure you’re familiar with the law and have everything in order before you hit the road.

Virginia Requires drivers to carry at least:

$30,000 in Bodily injury/death per person

$60,000 in Bodily injury/ death per accident

$20,000 in Property Damage

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

$30,000 in Bodily injury/death per person

$60,000 in Bodily injury/ death per accident

$20,000 in Property Damage

Virginia uses an electronic verification system to monitor which drivers carry insurance. If the DMV thinks you may be driving without insurance you will be sent a notice which you must respond to within 30 days.

Penalties for Driving without Insurance

$500 Fine

License Plate Suspension

Class 3 Misdemeanor

If you are pulled over and don’t have insurance you can be charged with any of the above. You may be also be required to carry an SR-22 on your insurance.

It is very easy to get insurance at We Insure Things. We can get you auto insurance in a few minutes. Click, Call, or Chat to get your Insurance back in force.

Please complete the form below for a quote.

Request Your Proposal Here

Are you ready to save time, aggravation, and money? The team at We Insure Things is here and ready to make the process as painless as possible. We look forward to meeting you!

Call Text Email Payments
Skip to content